3617_9780735695658f_58F7BB03

Automate Everything!

These two words immediately caught my attention! This is one of the hardest things for me as a developer. I spend most of my time designing and coding away, but I hardly spend anytime with PowerShell… so I’ll be blunt, as a developer, I must learn PowerShell and I must change my Definition of Done (DoD). I am not done until my feature can be deployed repeatedly and reliably. Automation makes me sleep better at night because my deployments yield predictable results.

This new e-book  is all about taking advantage of what the cloud has to offer. It’s packed with best practices for DevOps, data storage and high availability. Since the authors took a pattern-based approach, each chapter can be read independently.

Download all formats (PDF, Mobi and ePub) as well as link to the companion content hosted by the Microsoft Virtual Academy.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Using PowerShell to Rebuild #Azure SQL Database Indexes « Alexandre Brisebois - August 16, 2014

    […] I started automating everything, I decided it was time to revamp the console application from my earlier post. I reused bits from a […]

    Like

  2. #PowerShell Module for the #Azure API Management REST APIs « Alexandre Brisebois - August 17, 2014

    […] Working on a multi-region solution, I was really happy to see these APIs. One of the recurring challenges I face everyday, is to replicate my efforts across multiple deployments sprawled over many Azure regions. Now the only way to do this effectively is to automating everything! […]

    Like

  3. Azure Adventures – Deploying a JSP Web App to Azure App Service « Alexandre Brisebois ☁ - September 16, 2015

    […] Initially, walking through this example, I used an FTP client to upload my WAR file to the webapps folder. Doing so is quite practical and also quite limited. When we work with Azure, we rapidly understand that we must automate everything. […]

    Like

  4. Troubleshooting – My Azure Virtual Machine Won’t Start « Alexandre Brisebois ☁ - October 12, 2015

    […] that creating new resources is often easier than to restart a stopped (de-allocated) resource. By using automation to provision our Virtual Machines, we can take a page our of the Azure Batch and Azure Data Factory playbooks. Both of these services […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

